“They said, your writing style is similar with Trischa’s! They said, your like the second Trischa.”

These were the words my English teacher told me when I won the schools press conference in the previous year. I felt proud, of course! Who wouldn’t?

Every time somebody mentions “Feature Writing” her name is the first that comes to mind. She’s known for her writing skills ever since she was in the 5th grade. She has won numerous of writing contests.(which I cannot mention, because there are just too many to mention) And apart from that, writing articles are not the only thing she’s good at. She graduated as a Valedictorian (and is currently studying at UP Cebu) and she’s gorgeous.

Even now, it feels nice to be described as the second Trischa, but like everything else in this world, there’s a teeny tiny downside. Being the “second someone” feels like you’ll never be able to make a name for yourself. You’ll forever be known as the second of somebody and never yourself.

And don’t tell me I’m getting upset about one little comment, because NO. Almost everybody who stumbles upon my feature articles have the same opinions. “… just like Trischa.”  I know, I need to be thankful that I’m compared to one of the big guns in this small city and stop whining. But imagine what you would feel when your school paper adviser gives your teammates comments like:

“You’re a really good writer Kaye. You can write and you have a really nice penmanship. I could coach you if you want to improve your Editorial writing skills.”

But when it’s your article they comment on, they take a long pause, stare at your work and start to think very deeply as if thinking which insult sounds more like a compliment. In the end, they come up with:

“You have a wide and wild vocabulary. You’re like the remnants of Trischa.”

Some people in our curriculum are well-known and acknowledged in their own forte’s not as a second best but as the best, or if not best, then, above average. They’re not referred to as the second best, or the remnants of something or someone else. Wouldn’t it be nice to hear somebody complimenting you without dragging someone else name just so the comment would sound a tad bit nicer? Wouldn’t it be nice to be remembered as yourself and not leftovers of others? Wouldn’t it be be nice to hear a comment without being compared to someone else, for once?

We all have selfish thoughts. This is one of mine. Is it wrong to dream of being called a good enough feature writer, if not great?

But despite all the comparisons by the majority, there those few who believe in what you can do. Those who think you already do have it in you, and know that they’re not remnants of someone else. Mine, is my 9th Grade English teacher; my school level coach from the previous year. She referred to me as the next Trischa, or the second Trischa. She sees me simply as I am. Roina. Not a great and remarkable feature writer, but a feature writer nonetheless. She sees me as Roina, the feature writer who makes decent and not that marvelous outputs. And despite the lack of heavy sounding, flowery words of compliment, at least she believes I can shine on my own. She believes that I am not a shadow of someone else. And if she ever said anything inspirational to me it’s:

“Do well Roina. It’s your time to shine!”

 

 

 

This post is a response to the Daily Post’s Why, Thank You?

